List of Countries in Australia

What are the countries in Australia?

Australia is its own country, but it is also a continent at the same time. It comprises the entirety of the continent and there are no other countries within it. Originally, the term “Australasia” described many different countries in the area. These countries included Australia, French Polynesia, Tonga, Papua New Guinea, Niue, Tonga and Kiribati. It also included many islands in the area, including New Zealand, Fiji, Tokelau, Western Samoa, Wallis Futuna and Solomon Island. Others countries that are sometimes included are Tuvalu, Cocos Keeling Island, Nauru, Cook Island, New Caledonia, Pitcairn Island and Vanatu. Altogether, Australasia constituted some 20 countries. However, the practice of including these countries in the same region has fallen out of favor. They are mostly considered separately. Countries in this area are also sometimes referred to as “Oceania.” The countries that make up Oceania also include the Marshall Islands, Micronesia and others. Any of the islands in the Pacific Ocean might fall under the geographical term Australasia, which is why its usefulness as a geographical designation is disputed.

Learn more about Australia

Share this article

Related Posts

Latest Posts
Australian cultural Icons
Australian cultural…
Family traditions in Australia
Family traditions…
How our family structure…
Australian Aboriginal gender roles
Australian Aboriginal…
A comprehensive review…
Traditional Aboriginal culture
Traditional Aboriginal…
What are the countries in Australia?
What are the…
Australia is its own country…
Featured posts
  • Major countries in Australia
  • What are some traditions in Australia?
  • What cultures are in Australia?
  • Customs in Australia culture
  • Non verbal communication in Australia
  • Country in Australia
  • How many Aboriginal in Australia?
  • British population in Australia
  • Indigenous tribes in Australia
Copyright © 2023 l All rights reserved.