Aboriginal Peoples

Aboriginal Peoples

"Aboriginal peoples" is a collective name for the original peoples of North America and their descendants. The Canadian constitution recognizes three groups of Aboriginal peoples: Indians (commonly referred to as First Nations), Métis and Inuit. These are three distinct peoples with unique histories, languages, cultural practices and spiritual beliefs. More than 1.4 million people in Canada identify themselves as an Aboriginal person, according to the 2011 National Household Survey.

Aboriginal communities are located in urban, rural and remote locations across Canada. They include:

  • Inuit communities located in Nunavut, NWT, Northern Quebec (Nunavik) and Labrador
  • Urban communities of Aboriginal people (including Métis, non-Status Indians, Inuit and First Nation individuals) in cities or towns which are not part of reserves or traditional territories (for example, the Indigenous community in Winnipeg).

Share this article

Related Posts

Australian Creative
Australian Creative
Torres Strait Culture
Torres Strait Culture

Latest Posts
Aboriginal spirituality Ethics
Aboriginal spirituality…
Elder George Courchene…
Dresses in Australia
Dresses in Australia
Dressing for formal occasions…
Aboriginal culture information
Aboriginal culture…
What is ACHRIS? The Aboriginal…
About - Australian
About - Australian
Australian Outlook is…
Aboriginal Peoples
Aboriginal Peoples
Aboriginal peoples is…
Featured posts
  • Australian Creative
  • Torres Strait Culture
  • Australian fashion history
  • Indigenous, Aboriginal
  • History of religion in Australia
  • Australian Christmas Customs
  • All About Aboriginal
  • Indigenous heritage sites
  • About Australian people
Copyright © 2020 l districthilo.com. All rights reserved.