Celebration of light fireworks

List of Australian celebrations

To celebrate the amazing achievement of the CBCA’s 70th Book of the Year Awards, The CBCA Lifetime Achievement Award was presented at the Book of the Year Winners Presentation in Sydney on 19 August. This special award recognises a long-standing contribution by an Australian citizen to Australian children’s books and a lifetime commitment to Australian readers.


Robert Ingpen’s widely acclaimed books and diverse artistic endeavours

and achievements have created a lasting legacy for Australian readers.


Robert Ingpen is a hugely successful illustrator on the international scene. He has written or illustrated more than 100 books. These include children’s picture books and stories for all ages. His non-fiction books mostly relate to history, conservation, environment and health issues. His achievements include:

  • For his services to Australian literature he was awarded an AM. He is the only Australian (with Patricia Wrightson in 1986) to have received the internationally prestigious Hans Christian Andersen Award.
  • the design of many Australian postage stamps, as well as the Northern Territory flag and coat of arms.
  • the creation of a number of public murals in Geelong, Melbourne, Canberra and the Gold Coast.
  • the design of bronze statues, which include the Poppykettle Fountain in the Geelong Steam Packet Gardens, and the bronze doors to the Melbourne Cricket Club.
  • the design and working drawings for a tapestry, which was woven by The Victorian Tapestry Workshop, to celebrate the 150 years of the Melbourne Cricket Ground.
  • In 1982 Ingpen designed the Dromkeen Medal for the Governors of the Courtney Oldmeadow Children’s Literature Foundation. The Dromkeen Medal is awarded annually to Australians in recognition of contributions to children’s literature and Ingpen received it himself in 1989 for his own work in the field.
  • Ingpen was illustrator for the centenary editions of J.M. Barrie’s Peter Pan and Wendy and Kenneth Grahame’s The Wind in the Willows for which he bases characterisations on contemporary figures and personalities. This grew into an impressive series of classics (published by Palazzo) which will culminate with the 150th anniversary edition of Alice Through the Looking Glass in 2016.
  • In 2007 Ingpen illustrated a picture book by Liz Lofthouse called Ziba Came on a Boat, which was nominated for many Australian awards including the CBCA Awards and the WA Premier’s Book Awards.
  • In 2015 Tea and Sugar Christmas was chosen as an Honour Book in the CBCA Eve Pownall Category.
  • Storm Boy (written by Colin Thiele) is an enduring classic which is still in print.

Share this article

Related Posts

List of Australian festivals
List of Australian festivals

Latest Posts
South Australian Aboriginal Tribes
South Australian…
This guide to sources…
Values of Australia
Values of Australia
At PwC our aspiration…
Different cultures in Australia
Different cultures…
Do you ever wonder what…
Australian culture facts for Kids
Australian culture…
Australia is one of the…
Information about Australia country
Information about…
Check the vaccines and…
Featured posts
  • List of Australian festivals
  • Americanisation of Australian culture
  • List of Music festivals in Australia
  • Beliefs of Australian
  • Australian celebrations
  • Australian Creative
  • Australian fashion history
  • History of religion in Australia
  • Immigration card Australian
Copyright © 2024 l districthilo.com. All rights reserved.